The Workbench

Uncle Doug?

Anyone here watch or subscribe to Uncle Doug on Youtube? I'm trying to educate myself on tube amps and to me his channel seems pretty straightforward w/o BS. There are others I've watched as well. What say you?

I also have a book to read and bought a 5E3 kit to build fairly soon.

I really like Uncle Doug’s videos. Very informative and easy to digest.

I'm an old school electronics technician, and I love watching Uncle Doug videos as a refresher. He really does have an excellent way of explaining things. I've re-learned so much stuff that has sort of slipped my memory. He's great for us old techs needing a refresher, as well as new technicians just getting into repairing and refurbishing old (and some newer) audio systems. His knowledge is timeless when it comes to guitar amplifiers and HiFi systems. If it has tubes, you want to repair it, and you're either a little rusty or just learning tube circuits, Uncle Doug is definitely the best YouTube resource that I've found.

You can also learn a ton of tube amp troubleshooting (and even solid state amps) by watching Brad "The Guitologist". The man's extremely knowledgeable, and he takes you through the entire troubleshooting process, start to finish. His topics (subjects of his repairs) vary widely from fully tubes to fully solid state, on just about every amp you can imagine. He also does videos on amp conversions. He turns a variety of other types of audio equipment into guitar amplifiers. Uncle Doug does too, but not nearly as many as The Guitologist does. Both of these guys are very valuable resources for electronics technicians.

Huge fan here. I've learned loads from him and he's one of my favourite You Tubers.