General tech questions

tube preamps???

What tube preamps do y'all use / recommend for recording purposes? Price range would be under $200 bones for my home hobbyist recording use. I had a Presonus Tubepre I got on the cheap from the 'Bay and it came fudged up so I'ma stilla lookin'.

I'm using a UA 610. Beautiful pre-amp/comp, but maybe a bit above what you're looking at..

I use a Presonus Blue Tube, and it's okay for cheap. Nothing to write home about, though.

But it does have a tube, phantom power, two in's/ outs, low-end roll off, phase reversal, and pad buttons.

Home recordin', Holmes.

I've had good luck with anything ART. They make a single channel tube pre for around $35, and an 8 channel. Not sure how much that one is. I used the single a lot last year with good results.

I've been using a Presonus 2 channel Blue Tube for several years now. It does a very nice job with my MXL condenser mics.

I've been hearing good things about ART material, Rip. Haven't heard about the UA 610, roller. Of course, I've had good luck with the Presonus Audiobox. Sometimes the ebay will bite you. I only seem to hear about these two companies. Thanks for the feedback, Gents and Holmeseys!

i use a digitech 2101 and it works fine still

Neve 1073, seriously take care with that, the cheap tubes pre amps are fake they don´t use the tube or better said the tube does´t agree nothing good to the sound, for 200$ there is no good mic pre amps on the market, cheapest or better quality/price relation decent ones are in some sound cards, like Apogee Duet or event better Apogee Ensemble, really forget the idea of a tube preamp

Sorry, Big Jim, it's LA 610. By Universal Audio. Unfortunately, i'd agree with the comment about forgetting a tube pre for under 200 deniro. Best save up and get something good.

I use this low budget approach for some of my home recordings:

Photobucket

Fisher PR-5