The Workbench

Mythbusting Sustain: Nigel was wrong…but he was right too.

At least this guy says so.

https://www.cycfi.com/2013/...

TLDR: Strats actually sustain better below the 12th fret. Les Pauls sustain better on treble strings about the 12th.

But the science (and the generalizations) are pretty sloppy and rudimentary. What strings? Which pickups? Any preamp gain?

The only way to make that test meaningful would be to record the guitars acoustically- not plugged in - and with the same strings at the same state of wear. And preferably with a strumpluck robot which would whang the strings at exactly the same velocity...

Way too many variables in this test for it to be viable. I don't subscribe to the theory. Interesting subject though.

I always found the only way to reliable increase sustain is to crank that preamp knob up!!! Crank the sucka!

(da-doo-doo DEEEEE-da-DEEEEEEE-da)

SCIENCE!

I'm a drummer first so for me one of the things I love about playing my Gretsch Duo Jet is it's a more percussive guitar compared to my Strat or my previous Les Paul that I sold to my brother. I find it more difficult to control a guitar with a lot of sustain. I do like sustain for lead guitar single note solos but I prefer less sustain when playing rhythm guitar. My Duo Jet is pretty balanced.

Sustain is overrated.

If you want sustain, buy an organ.

i agree with Enis re: too many variables unaccounted for. from body density to fingerboard finish to the quality of the bridge saddle slots, there are so many fudge factors that i think this is of limited use.

Man, somebody sure spent a bunch of time figuring this out for unplugged electrics when we always use our amps and settings for sustain. My head hurts.