The Workbench

JBL D120F Questions

Summary of Questions:

1. What is your cone number ? I want to figure out what the original cone numbers were and if mine is original. (Mine is XHF-3685, where X is illegible)

2. IF you have voice coil numbers please state them. (Mine is VL9400)

3. Do you have paper surrounds ( One piece paper cone with integrated paper surrounds) or cloth surrounds for D120F or earlier models.

4. If you ever disassembled an original D120F or earlier D120, was the coil former aluminum ?

5. Do you know if aluminum wire was used as voicecoil and during which time periods ?

Background info.

For those of you that read and commented on my threads, would know that I am totally new to D120 speakers. The relevant thread explains the reason why I never adopted them.

I found a blown D120F that is quite easy to fix, but I am a bit baffled whether the cone and coil/former is authentic. I am finished repairing it and will reassemble, but before that, I have some questions. It is the one speaker I know almost zip of ... to my own detriment. I missed a LOT! In this case it really didnt help not being born in the USA.

1) The cone has the following number XHF-3685, where X is illegible.

2) The voice coil and former is a darn work of art. The former is aluminum, the coil wire is copper (could be enameled aluminum) and is deep-edge-wound

3) The Voice Coil assembly (motor) number is VL9400 Some claim that the D120's were issued with Aluminum coil wire. It seems odd, but hey, what do I know about JBL.

I need someone who has a D120F (in particular not the early 60s ones) to post their cone numbers. Although it would be great to have the cone numbers for the non F versions also and definately what kind of surrounds they had. All in one paper cone, integrated paper surround or separate cloth surround.

If anyone disassembled a vintage original D120 / D120F can you remember if the former was aluminum ?