The Workbench

Gretsch Vintage V neck profile

I am interested in the G6120T-59, but I can’t find one in my area to try out. Looking at the Gretsch website, I like everything about it, but have a concern about the “Vintage V” neck. I really like the “Standard U” necks, and I am wondering if the “Vintage V” will be OK for me.

I don’t mind a soft V, or even a pronounced V that resolves to a C or a U.

As always, all info or opinions are welcomed and appreciated ...

My favorite neck.

Necks are so personal when it comes to how they feel. Everyone is different.

I'm not good at descriptions, so others can chime in, but I consider it a soft V.

Very comfortable feeling to me.

never played a Gretsch that had what felt like a V to me

never played a Gretsch that had what felt like a V to me

– tabletop

I haven't either, the 1898 Parlor I had was a radicle V, but somehow was not uncomfortable.

For us fingerstyle players a soft V and shallow C are quite often favored as they comfortably suit thumb placement. I have a couple of a more medium C and have no issues switching between them. The only profile I can't live with is the deep D that was on my Super Chet. It was like the necks on Flamenco guitars and unless you have huge hands, you can't wrap your thumb around for fretting.

I haven't either, the 1898 Parlor I had was a radicle V, but somehow was not uncomfortable.

– RCgold

yeah I have a '39 Epiphone Zenith with a pretty pronounced V. Maybe when you've played something seriously V'd a more subtle V is barely noticeable

It’s a soft v. They make a few of their resonators with a hard v. The vintage v models are much softer. Especially nice with rolled edges.

so did vintage '59 6120's have a V neck?

I don't really think my '59 6119 does. Might just be too subtle for me

I just meant that the “vintage” V is soft. As opposed to the one the reso has, which is listed as a “medium” V but is much more pronounced.