Gretsch Garage Sale

My Custom Shop ‘59 Gretsch Duo Jet w/ TVJ Classics, Yours w/ DeArmonds

Throwing this out there in case I have a counterpart...

I have a Stephen Stern Masterbuilt '59 Duo Jet w/ TV Jones Classics. Relic finish, blacktop.

A truly first rate guitar... my only issue is that my rigs are dialed for single coils, and I think I'd prefer to have essentially the same guitar w/ DeArmond style pickups of some sort.

If you have one and wish you had Filter'Trons... I'm your guy!

Get some dynas in a filtertron mount from TV jones.

That had occurred to me, but I dunno... I think that sorta messes with the vibe that this one has going for it.

That had occurred to me, but I dunno... I think that sorta messes with the vibe that this one has going for it.

– BobL

Visually or sonically? If you aren't pleased with the sound, it would be a change in the right direction. I was in the same boat with my RHH. Here it is with the swap...

Nice guitar! and I like the RHH with the T-Armond's too. I wish all YouTube demos were that well done. Solid playing, well recorded, visuals of which pickups are in use, and no distortion effects to disguise the tone.

Visually or sonically? If you aren't pleased with the sound, it would be a change in the right direction. I was in the same boat with my RHH. Here it is with the swap...

– Bluecap

I don't know sonically - it would probably sound great, but kind of overall look/vibe, and that sense of what it was intended to be when it was built? I understand if that seems silly to some, but... dunno.

Your RHH sounds great! Very tasty playing, too. Might be worth trying a pickup swap.

I would second the motion to just do a pickup swap.
You have a great Jet and a swap is reversible. I swapped the original TV Jones from my 6122-59 for TV's T-Armonds and haven't looked back.

Yeah, it's probably worth a try, anyway...