Elliot Easton's Tiki Lounge

Lefty USA Built 6120’s ??

Folks ,

hi I'm new to this forum ... in fact I'm new to electric guitars :D I want to get a Gretsch because they just look so cool and well I love everything I have heard on youtube . have any of you ordered a USA custom shop or own a vintage example of a 6120 ??? . I'm a lefty by the way !!!!

Did/does Elliot Easton own a lefty 6120 ? .

what is the best combo of features to order ?

thanks

JC

Hey there Portsider!

I don't believe Elliot owns one, he was more a White Falcon hollowbody guy; and then he had his own signature model Gretsch.

There are a couple vintage ones that have popped up that I have seen for sale; but the asking prices are quite high. I would look closely at any vintage Lefty, not every Gretsch has aged gracefully.

I don't know anyone who has ordered a custom shop LH 6120; IMHO, since Gretsch came out with the 6120-LTV I have not seen a need to think about the custom shop one: Link...

My Lefty wife has one, and there's a little blurb comparing it to the older "pre-Fender" 6120 here: Link...

Jim , which would you say is more accurate ?

thanks

JC

IMHO, the 6120-LTV is pretty close.

Hey, Juan,

Unless you have very deep pockets, buying a vintage or Custom Shop 6120 will be financially painful, and will require quite a long time. Very few left-handed 6120s were built in the '50s and '60s, and they rarely appear on the market. I've seen just three for sale in the past 10 years, and two of them were double-cut examples from the mid-to-late '60s. You would have to wait for one of the few to appear on the market, and who knows when that will be?