Elliot Easton's Tiki Lounge

6120w nashville gretsch

Hi

I'm a newbie I'm not sure where to post my question.

I'm from Belgium I have just bought a second hand Gretsch 6120w serial number 899120w-100 can someone give me more information about the guitar and an estimated price, the guitar is in perfect condition, I feel in love with the guitar. I know that pricers are more expensive over here in europe just hoping I've made a good buy. I paid 2500 euro.

Thanks

Mary Ann

WELCOME!! Great guitar,especially for the deeper end of R&R,thick body,ceramic Filters,thin fast neck but not really spec correct.This is my first Gretsch, No. 108.Still have it,bought it used back in '92-'93 for under a grand.Would advise electronic change,pots ,wire,switch & jack.There is a couple right now for sale but over the 2k mark which is rediculous. Great guitars though.

Mary Ann, it is difficult for us to compare US prices with the prices in Belgium. These are pre-FMIC guitars which are fine guitars; however, many people prefer the FMIC-era guitars because their specifications are closer to the vintage specifications, including three-ply top, which many believe makes the guitar more resonant.

But, as MDWilliams' post demonstrates, there is definitely a love for that guitar.

That guitar would probably sell used in the US market for $1100-$1500, depending upon the condition of the guitar and where the guitar is located. So, whether it is a "deal" or a "bargain", that would be for you to decide.

Give my best to Sally. :)

You have the same exact guitar that Reverend Horton Heat used live for at least a decade and a half.

A1989 6120w was my first Gretsch, and it got me hooked.

Congratulations. We're all glad for you.

Tell Sally hello for me, as well.

Welcome to the GDP! Nice guitar.

Welcome to the GDP and awesome guitar! :D

You have the same exact guitar that Reverend Horton Heat used live for at least a decade and a half.

– Troy Dering

– troy6120