Electromatics

New Gretsch 5422T owner - pots

Hiya good Gretsch folk,

After 40 years playing, and for my 50th birthday, I treated myself to a Gretsch 5422T in black... I have a variety of guitars from Gibson, Fender, Godin, Ibanez etc... but aside from playing a few vintage Gretsch guitars back when I worked in the trade, I had never owned one myself.

All I can say is wow, I wish I had bought one years ago!

Fit and finish are as good as anything, and it only needed a minor adjustment to the bridge height - if anything it is now a bit lower action-wise than I like, so might move it up a little when I restring it. The tuning is rock solid, the Bigsby is lovely for that shimmery effect, and the sound is fantastic through my Blues Stage, yet to run it through any valve amps as they are in storage during the lockdown.

I can get a great blues tone from it, it does rock'n'roll really well, and kick in the drive and it really rocks. A tweak to the amp and it doesn't do a bad impression of a jazz box too :)

The only flaw I can see is the pots, both the tone and the three volume pots... they seem to have little to no effect from 0-7, then 8-10 is all or nothing. Is this typical of Gretsch wiring? My immediate thoughts are to get in some CTS pots and swap them out, bit of a pain on a hollow body, but as someone who likes to back off the volume to clean the sound up, it is going to be somewhat necessary. (I'll admit I usually either have the tone all the way up or all the way off, so that isn't such a drag).

I feel no need to change the pickups, these blacktops have a lovely sound, really acousticy on the bass strings, and great definition.

So all in all I am blown away with this guitar, but if anyone has any thoughts on the volume/tone pots or experience of what works best, it would be great to hear.

Stay safe all,

Johnny

Welcome to our addiction.