Electromatics

If you had a choice of….

...these guitars and could freely pick which one would you pick and why? I know these aren't Pro line but I'm not a Pro. 5135 Corvette, 5435 Pro Jet, 5441 Double Jet. I realize the Blacktops in the latter two prolly make them sound the same, but mebbe not. The Mega-Trons in the 'Vette intrigue me very much. I seem to remember Baxter loving longtime GI on his Corvette. I'd like to add another budget minded 'bucker style guitar to the fold and like the comfort of the slimmer body. I don't gig much and just play with myself...So, opinions about this strata of Gretsch guits would be appreciated. Thanks!

I have a 5135 and like it. The Mega-Trons have a really a nice chimmey tone. It’s a good guitar. No experience with Jets or Blacktops to comment on.

I've got a Pro Jet, so, you know where I'm at. The Double Jet is a very close second. I like a slab, so the Corvette is right up there as well.

Play all three---one will speak to you.

I think I'd go for the small bodied Streamliner and fit some different humbucker-sized pickups -- can always put the Broadtrons back for resale.

I appreciate the feedback. I used to not care for the body style of the Corvette, but my opinion has changed and the uniqueness of it's cut is handsome.

To me, it would depend on what I already have and what sound I'm going for.

Those are all great choices. I'm not familiar with the Mega-Trons but I do have a few Blacktop guitars and they are all hollow body so I'm not sure if those sound different in a chambered guitar. In my G5191BK and Karolyn's G5420T they sound very Jangly. I'm with you on the love of a Corvette though.

I'm liking unbound necks, lately, so the 5135 would be my choice...if I didn't already have a 6135.

Corvette. It's an understated rock & roll machine, and you just don't see that many in the wild compared to Jets & such.

Mine has been a reliable bigger for 10 years now.