Duane Eddy's House of Twang

Just realised how much of an influence Duane has been on me

I've been playing for almost 40 years now (gasp!). I first started playing after hearing Sultans of Swing on the radio, which is what made me think Aha! I must play guitar. But for most of the time I have been playing I have had a deep twangy sound reverberating in my head as what a guitar should sound like. For years and years I have been refining my version of that kinda sound. It's why I bought my first Gretsch, after reading how twangy they can be. This was way before the internet.

I tried Strats, Teles, various Gibsons... Got close, but it was when I got my first 6120 I started to get there. And then when I got my first single-cut 6120 - an SSU - in around 2000, I felt at home. Not a Dyna model, but close. But in all these years it never occurred to me where this mysterious sound in my head might have come from.

Funny thing is we had no Duane records in my house as I was growing up. And for years none in my house once I got married. I don't know exactly where I heard Duane's playing, but it stayed in my subconscious ever since. I did see Duane play in Perth in 1975 and remember being very impressed. I was 10.

There are many guitar players whose playing has impressed me very much, and I have tried to figure out what they do. Scotty Moore, Joey Santiago, Rev Horton Heat, Nick Curran - but the sound i hear in my head is Duane.

All I can think is that Duane's sound and touch must be mighty potent stuff - for a sound to stay in my head with so little exposure over the years is remarkable. I think Duane must have sensed that being able to play is part of the equation, but being able to play with such a beautiful and memorable sound is what separates the wannabes from the pros. Duane's playing is a singer with a beautiful voice and great technique. A wonderful combination.

And a huge influence. Go Duane!