Drums

Just one ride/crash?

Hey all. I picked up a used beginner kit a little while ago, just to beat around on and maybe record demos. Didn't come with cymbals. I bought a hi-hat and I have a stand for another cymbal. Here's my question: If you were to have just one cymbal (aside from hi-hat) what do you get?

Do you use a ride cymbal, or do they make hybrid ride/crash cymbals?

Incidentally, I saw a band last night, and the drummer had an interesting set-up (see photo). Just one floor tom (no mounted toms), and just one cymbal. He sounded great, which is just further proof that good players don't always need tons of gear. Might be hard to see from the photo, but would that be a ride? Any guess on the size?

do they make hybrid ride/crash cymbals?

Yes

That's surely a ride. Bigger than his bass drum, from appearances. So unless he's an unusual feller with a 26" kick (it sure doesn't look like a 20), bigger than 22 or 24".

I’m sure there are a few. I have a Zildjian Armand 19” Beautiful Baby that I use as a ride and a crash. Really like it a lot.

Sizzle rivets optional.

What ticks me about DC drummers is they never use their ride cymbals... they just stay on fully closed hats all the time... boring as hell. They don't even do the half open/sizzle hats like Ringo

My wife used to play a cocktail kit and in an effort to keep it compact she went down to the drum shop and played all the small rides and large crashes until she found the best compromise. It was a cool setup but she abandoned it for a proper sit down kit after we played an entire set of 1977 punk rock classics. 40 minutes of bashing all that out on one foot. I didn't blame her.

That's surely a ride. Bigger than his bass drum, from appearances. So unless he's an unusual feller with a 26" kick (it sure doesn't look like a 20), bigger than 22 or 24".

– Proteus