Dan Duffy's Corner

Gretsch Streamliner Pickup comparrison

Is there a Gretsch pickup comparrison chart anywhere. Broadtron pickups are really too "honky" & I am looking to replace them with something a bit more authentic.

Thanks,

Colin

Welcome to our addiction, Showdoc. I've been hearing some great tones coming from those pickups, in videos. Gretsches are certainly Twangy and I haven't heard them referred to as honky but these pickups, I have no experience with. Have you tried adjusting them at all i.e. poles or entire pickup height? From what we're hearing so far about these guitars is that they're great. I hope someone else has a suggestion for you. Maybe some TVJones pickups for an upgrade but which ones to get, I couldn't say. What type of sound are you looking for, exactly and what type of music do you play?

TV Jones makes Filtertron style pickups in Filtertron size and also standard humbucker size that should drop right in a Streamliner if you don't want to use adapters.

Entwistle Nashvilles.. if they'll fit the frames.. Or even better, Entwistle Nemesis as a standard humbucker replacement.

If by “honky” you mean an unpleasant nasal emphasis in the midrange, the un-honkiest TV Jones pups, closest to vintage FilterTron spec, are TV Classics - since they share the relatively scooped mids which differentiate Filters from Gibsonesque humbuckers.

Out of the dual coil realm, any TVs which are - or approach - single-coil tone would also be safely unhonky: TArmonds (emulating DynaSonics), his HiloTron version, or MagnaTrons.