About the Gretsch Pages

Serial Number prefix worry

Hi all.. I’m new to Guitar pages.. so will apologize in advance for any mistakes.. I’ve just acquired my 1st Gretsch Electromatic.. but I’m a bit concerned about the serial Number prefix.. I have looked all over for the prefix.. which is cygc. And don’t seem to be able to find anything on it.. The guitar is a Orange model not sure of model number It is a Bigsby with gold hardware.. The guitar is actually a thing of beauty. I would post a photo but I’m not sure how.. Any info “good or bad would be very much appreciated.. Many > - - 1. > Thanks

Should be a label inside the f hole. To my eyes it appears you have a G5655TG. And welcome to the GDP. Also, you could have a "B" stock where the serial number is eliminated to avoid warranty issues.

CY is China Yako for the manufacturer. Not sure on the GC. You should also have some numbers after the letters

The serial Number is CYGC19020198 if that helps at all.. It doesn't show on any data base I have tried... It certainly looks legitimate.. Unfortunately I can't put another pic on " without doing a separate post.. Thanks in advance

Hello, Pago, welcome to the GDP (Gretsch Discussion Pages), and congratulations on your new guitar! She's a very beautiful instrument. You can only post one picture at a time, it looks like you figured that out already.

You've come to the right place for everything you ever wanted to know about Gretsch guitars. There are some very knowledgeable people here, who can answer just about anything questions you may have about your new guitar. Be forewarned, Gretsch guitars are addictive. They're unique and and wonderful instruments, and once bitten by the Gretsch bug, it's hard to resist getting more of them.

Can we see a pic of the label?

I think CY is China and GC maybe a special run for Guitar Center.

Good looking guitar and welcome to the GDP.